The Council

The Chartered Association of Business Schools is governed by a council of senior management from our member business schools.

Members are elected annually at the Chartered ABS Annual General Meeting, held in November.

The responsibilities of the Council's governance are outlined in our Royal Charter.

The Chartered ABS is committed to diversity as set out in our Principles on diversity, equality and inclusion.

The Association's Annual Report 2022-23 is available here.



Work Photo - Dec 2019 - 3 - cropped for homepage banner

Professor Robert MacIntosh

Professor Robert MacIntosh trained as an engineer and is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Academy of Social Sciences and the British Academy of Management. He has published over 100 outputs including books on strategy, organisational change and research impact. His background reflects a long-standing interest in multidisciplinary research that makes a difference in the world. He is an advocate of the transformative power of universities both in their learning and teaching and in their research and knowledge exchange.

He has held leadership roles in business schools at Strathclyde, Glasgow and Heriot-Watt and is currently Pro Vice-Chancellor for Business and Law at Northumbria University. He is also Chair of the Chartered Association of Business Schools and sits on the Council of the British Academy of Management.

He has extensive experience working with, facilitating and researching strategy in a range of publicly traded firms, large public organisations and third sector organisations and has supervised a number of senior leaders from the US, Canada, Europe and the UK to doctoral completion.

He is an experienced boardroom practitioner having served on the board of the social care charity Turning Point Scotland (2013 to 2021, and chair from 2019-2021) and the board of Heriot-Watt University Malaysia (2014-2021). He publishes regularly on academic life in the Times Higher Education and on doctoral study through His status as a shareholder in Aberdeen Football Club demonstrates his innate optimism.

Vice Chair


Professor Catherine Cassell
Executive Dean, Durham University Business School, Durham University

Members of Chartered ABS Council

mohamme ali

Professor Mohammad Ali
Pro-Vice Chancellor and Dean, Anglia Ruskin University


Professor Julia Bennell
Executive Dean, Leeds University Business School


Professor Marian Garcia
Dean, Kent Business School


Professor Conor Moss
Dean, College of Business, Technology and Engineering at Sheffield Hallam University


Professor Kamil Omoteso
Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean, College of Business, Law and Social Sciences, University of Derby


Professor Stewart Robinson
Dean, Newcastle University Business School


Professor Eleanor Shaw

Head of Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow


Professor Adam Shore
Director, Liverpool Business School


Professor Sankar Sivarajah
Dean of School of Management, University of Bradford

Baback Yazdani

Professor Baback Yazdani
Dean, Nottingham Business School


Professor Yanguo Jing (Co-opted Member)
Dean, Faculty of Business, Computing and Digital Industries at Leeds Trinity University


David Meech Mazumdar (Co-opted Member)
Department Manager - Strategic Planning & Development, Department of Management, London School of Economics and Political Science

Remuneration Committee

Professor Robert MacIntosh (Chair)

Professor Catherine Cassell (Vice Chair) 

Professor Sankar Sivarajah (Treasurer)

Terms of Reference