Chartered ABS 2018 Fellows announced

The Chartered Association of Business Schools is delighted to announce the awarding of five Fellowships in recognition of outstanding contribution to the advancement of business schools and the Chartered ABS mission. This prestigious award celebrates the great support given by individuals through advocacy, external impact, and in helping the Chartered ABS fulfil its mission to support the great work of our business schools in the UK.

The new Fellows are The Rt Hon The Lord Young of Graffham, Lord Bilimoria of Chelsea, Professor Jerry Forrester, Professor Angus Laing, and Stuart Miller.

In 2013 Lord Young, whilst Prime Minister David Cameron’s Enterprise Adviser, masterminded the Small Business Charter and working with Stuart Miller, Professor Angus Laing and others, brought it in to fruition. There are now 35 business schools across the UK with the award, and their number is set to increase. Lord Young continues his guidance and support for the scheme in his role as Patron. Without his vision and influence the SBC may never have started and flourished in the way it has.

Lord Bilimoria is very well known for his support of business schools, having sat on or chaired  the advisory boards of at least four business schools, and has been especially vocal in his support of the importance of international students to the flourishing of our higher education system. He has been particularly supportive of the Chartered ABS by speaking at numerous events and hosting us in the House of Lords.

Professor Jerry Forrester has been a huge supporter of the Chartered ABS for many years especially, although not only, in the area of Learning, Teaching and Student Experience. He chaired the very active LTSE committee for many years, helping to develop our position on the Teaching Excellence Framework and leading what has become our biggest of the four conferences. For the last four years he has also served as Vice Chair of the Chartered ABS.

Professor Angus Laing, in addition to his role in setting up the SBC, was the Chair who oversaw the transition of the ABS to the Chartered ABS, the move to new premises, and the greater focus on the lobbying role of the Chartered ABS. His assured steering of the organisation through a period of fundamental change has been integral to our higher profile and to building the organisation we are today.

Stuart Miller combined his role of Chief Executive of ByBox, a highly successful business he co-founded in 2000, with his role in supporting the Small Business Charter, which included a time as Chair when the SBC was going through significant change. Stuart’s calm and positive outlook had an enormous impact on all around him during those times and he continues to explore ways in which business schools and small businesses can come together to create a more economically sustainable future.

We are tremendously grateful to our new Fellows, and to all those who participated in the nomination process. We very much look forward to working with them over the coming years and continuing to achieve great results for the UK business and management education sector.