List of Qualifications for a CMBE application

To be eligible to become a CMBE via the 'Teaching qualification with experience' route, applicants must hold one of the teaching qualifications below, or an equivalent qualification:

  • HEA Fellow
  • HEA Senior Fellow
  • HEA Principal Fellow
  • National Teaching Fellowship Scheme Individual Award
  • PGCE, PGCertHE, PGDipHE, or PGDE
  • Master of Education (MEd)
  • Other UK teaching accreditation or qualification*
  • Overseas HE accreditation or qualification for teaching*

* Evidence submitted under ‘Other UK qualifications’ or ‘Overseas HE qualifications’ must be of equivalent levels to one of the other qualifications listed above. These will be reviewed by the Chartered ABS and may be referred to the CMBE Professional Standards Board. Therefore, if you have not provided evidence of any of other the acceptable qualifications listed above, your application may take longer to review.