The Twenty Fourth Deans' Meeting

14:00-15:00, 7 February, online

This online meeting is solely for Deans from Chartered ABS member business schools. Facilitated by the Chair of the Chartered ABS, Professor Robert MacIntosh and with input from Deans from across the membership, this is the latest meeting that the Chartered ABS has run and it builds on the previous meetings that have taken place since April 2020.

We will be joined as a guest speaker by Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser, Chief Executive of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). The agenda for the meeting will be available in due course.

Please note: Attendance at this meeting is restricted to Deans of Chartered ABS member institutions.  If you unsure about whether you are eligible to attend this meeting then please contact Oliver Lowe -

Guest Speaker

Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser
Chief Executive, UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)

Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser is the Chief Executive of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) and Regius Professor of Botany at the University of Cambridge. UKRI brings together the UK’s Research Councils, Innovate UK and Research England, operating with a combined budget of more than £8bn per year.

Prior to this Ottoline Leyser was Director of the Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge, an interdisciplinary research institute combining computational modelling with molecular genetics and cell biology to elucidate the dynamical systems underpinning the control of plant growth and development. She has made important contributions to understanding the role of plant hormones in developmental plasticity, using the control of shoot branching in Arabidopsis as a model system.

Ottoline has a long-term interest in research culture and its effects on the quality and effectiveness of the research system.  She chaired the Nuffield Council on Bioethics project examining these issues and has been actively engaged in work aimed at generating a more inclusive, creative and connected culture. She has worked extensively in science policy.

She is a Fellow of the Royal Society, a Member of the Leopoldina and EMBO, and an International Member of the US National Academy of Sciences. In 2017 she was appointed DBE for services to plant science, science in society and equality and diversity in science.

The 2022-23 Deans' Meetings calendar