New Chartered ABS Chair and Council members appointed

The Chartered ABS is delighted to announce the appointment of Professor Julia Clarke as its new Chair.

Julia Clarke is the Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the Faculty of Business and Law at Manchester Metropolitan University and is also the Chair of the Business and Law Panel of the pilot subject-level Teaching Excellence Framework.

The outgoing Chair, Professor Simon Collinson, has served the three-year term as Chair of the Chartered ABS and its governing Council since 2015, and will be staying on as a Council member.

On her appointment, Professor Julia Clarke said: "I am delighted and honoured to have been elected as Chair. The Chartered ABS continues to go from strength to strength as the representative body of UK business schools and I look forward to building on the great work that Simon has led during the last few years.

Commenting on leaving the role, Professor Collinson had this message: "I am immensely pleased and proud to have served as Chair of the Chartered ABS though a period when its role has expanded and its influence and impact has reached new heights, on behalf of its members. We have seen a growing recognition of the hugely positive contribution of business schools in the UK economy, to business and society. The Chartered ABS has spearheaded this trend, through the efforts of the Council, our Committees, our excellent CEO and the wonderful home team that drives everything we do. I am also delighted that Professor Julia Clarke will take over from me as Chair. I cannot think of a more qualified leader to help shape and grow our contribution to the members and our stakeholders in uncertain times."

The Chartered ABS is very grateful to both Simon and Julia for their ongoing work on behalf of the membership and of business schools UK-wide. We look forward to continuing to work with them both as we continue on our mission over the coming years.

We are also delighted to announce that Professor Martin Broad, Head of Southampton Business School, will be Vice Chair, Baback Yazdani, Dean of Nottingham Business School, will serve another year as Treasurer.

New members of Council announced

The Chartered ABS are very pleased to welcome the new and returning members of our Council. Newly-elected members will serve a three year term before getting the chance to be re-elected, should they choose to stay on.

  • Professor Martin Broad (new)
  • Professor Dana Brown (new)
  • Professor Julia Clarke (re-elected 2018-21)
  • Professor Simon Collinson
  • Professor Toni Hilton (new)
  • Professor Veronica Hope Hailey
  • Professor Angus Laing
  • Professor Robert MacIntosh (new member 2018-21, previously co-opted)
  • Professor Heather McLaughlin
  • Professor Zoe Radnor
  • Donna Whitehead
  • Professor Baback Yazdani (Treasurer)
  • Dr Emm Johnstone (new co-opted member)

We are immensely grateful for the hard work and time committed by our outgoing Council members Professor Jerry Forrester (outgoing Vice-Chair) and Professor David Oglethorpe.

More information about our Council and governance can be found here.