Small Business Charter

The Small Business Charter (SBC) award gives recognition to business schools that play an effective role in supporting small businesses, local economies and student entrepreneurship.

In order to achieve the Small Business Charter award, business schools undergo a rigorous assessment to determine the depth and effectiveness of their business engagement and business support.

The Small Business Charter was developed by Lord Young, the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, and the Chartered Association of Business Schools. In addition to providing business schools with a nationally recognisable kitemark award, the SBC also facilitates valuable knowledge sharing networks and promote the sector to ensure the value of the business knowledge, management expertise, and enterprise education offered by our business schools is maximised and utilised.

To find out more and to apply for a Small Business Charter award please visit the Small Business Charter website.


Business schools awarded the Small Business Charter  

There are 62 business schools that hold the Small Business Charter award:

  • Aberdeen Business School, Robert Gordon University
  • Faculty of Business and Law, Anglia Ruskin University
  • Aston University, Aston Business School
  • Birkbeck School of Business, Economics and Informatics
  • Birmingham City University, Birmingham City University Business School
  • Bournemouth University Business School
  • Brunel Business School
  • Cardiff Business School, Cardiff University
  • Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cardiff School of Management
  • Coventry Business School, Coventry University
  • De Montfort University, Leicester Business School
  • Derby Business School, University of Derby
  • Dublin City University, Dublin City University Business School
  • Edinburgh Business School, Heriot Watt University
  • The Fashion Business School, London College of Fashion, University of the Arts, London
  • Gloucestershire Business School
  • Greenwich Business School
  • Guildhall School of Business and Law, London Metropolitan University
  • Henley Business School
  • Hertfordshire Business School
  • Huddersfield Business School
  • Hull Business School
  • Keele Business School
  • Kent Business School, University of Kent
  • King's Business School, King's College London
  • Kingston University, Kingston Business School
  • Lancashire School for Business and Enterprise
  • Lancaster University Management School
  • Leeds Business School, Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds University Business School, University of Leeds
  • Leicester Castle Business School
  • London South Bank University School of Business
  • Loughborough University School of Business and Economics
  • Manchester Metropolitan University Business School
  • Newcastle Business School, Northumbria University
  • Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham Business School
  • Norwich Business School
  • Oxford Brookes Business School
  • Pearson Business School
  • Queen's Management School
  • Sheffield Business School, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Solent Business School
  • Southampton Solent University, School of Business and Law
  • Teesside University International Business School
  • Ulster Business School
  • University of Bath School of Management
  • University of Bedfordshire Business School
  • University of Bradford School of Management
  • University of Brighton School of Business and Law
  • University of Dundee School of Business
  • University of Exeter Business School
  • University of Leicester School of Business
  • University of Liverpool Management School
  • University of Nottingham, Nottingham University Business School
  • University of Portsmouth, Portsmouth Business School
  • University of Salford, Salford Business School
  • University of Sheffield, Management School
  • University of Staffordshire, Staffordshire University Business School
  • University of Stirling, Management School
  • University of Strathclyde, Strathclyde Business School
  • University of the West of England, Bristol Business School
  • Winchester Business School